Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Seven Obama Designees Confirmed by the Senate

Hillary Clinton was not confirmed and can not take over the State Department until, at least, Wednesday. Republican Senator John Cornyn from Texas did not give a consent forcing a roll call vote for Wednesday. His concern is Clinton's husband's business dealings. Hillary Clinton will be confirmed.

The list of those confirmed by unanimous consent:

*Steven Chu as energy secretary

*Arne Duncan as education secretary

*Janet Napolitano as secretary of homeland security

*Peter Orszag as director of the Office of Management and Budget

*Ken Salazar as interior secretary

*Eric Shinseki as veterans affairs secretary

*Tom Vilsack as agriculture secretary


Home Page