Wednesday, January 28, 2009

White House Announcements

Today, President Barack Obama announced more key members of the Office of the White House Counsel, including Deputy Counsels and Special Counsel, Associate Counsels, Deputy Associate Counsels, Research Director, and Staff Assistants and Administrative Assistants. The full list of appointees named today is below.

President Barack Obama said, “The White House Counsel’s office is tasked with making sure that we are operating under the highest standard of ethics and transparency for the American people. Ensuring that we have an open and honest government is one of our top priorities, and this team brings together people of exceptional experience and dedication to public service. I trust they will serve the American people well.”

Bios, here

Today, President Barack Obama announced that Diana Farrell and Jason Furman will serve as Deputy Directors of the National Economic Council (NEC).

President Obama said, “In this time of great economic crisis, the American people deserve urgent action. Diana and Jason, along with Larry Summers, will work day and night with me to advance an American Recovery and Reinvestment plan that not only aims to jumpstart economic growth, but also promotes the long-term investments in our economy necessary to save and create jobs, rebuild our infrastructure, and assure energy independence. This won’t happen overnight, but I have faith that this team has the knowledge and deep commitment needed to help me tackle the challenge of achieving the long-term economic stability that the American people deserve.”